August Adventures

We went to Ohio and Kentucky last week for the Noah Conference. I say Ohio and Kentucky because we were staying in Ohio, but the conference was in Florence, Kentucky – we had to drive about an hour each way. But it really was worth it; good speakers and enjoyable fellowship. In case you haven’t heard, they’re having another Noah Conference in Ocean Shores, WA this October…

Afterwards, we visited to the Ark Encounter in Williamstown, KY. I’ll share some of the pictures below, but first a few shots of things at home (-:

IMG_3616

Our honeybees getting a sip of water

IMG_3754

Aunt D. came for a visit from Boise, and also stayed with Grandma while we went on our trip. That was a big blessing, and we’re really grateful to the Lord that He worked out the details so we could go. In these pictures, we were on a walk down the road. We had a nice break from the Summertime heat… it was cool, in fact!

IMG_3735

IMG_3784

And we also got to take Aunt D. to Meramec Spring Park. It’s a beautiful place in these ‘hills and hollers’.

IMG_3800

IMG_3822

And then our family was off to Ohio and Kentucky! The great big tree stump behind us is the remainder of Indiana’s Constitution Elm. When the courthouse that the framers of the state’s constitution were in became too hot, they moved outside under the shade of this once-thriving tree.

IMG_3854

We also visited the site of the battle of Corydon. The forest around this cabin was rather junglish – we wondered how people could have fought in it.

IMG_3834

I know it’s hard too tell in a picture, but that chain was pretty big and heavy.

IMG_3852

IMG_3868

IMG_3904

Some of the girls said that one of their favorite parts about the Ark Encounter was getting to ride the bus from the parking lot to the Ark (-:

IMG_3912

IMG_3914

IMG_3921

You really have to see it with your own eyes to understand how huge the Ark is!

IMG_4002

IMG_4040

IMG_4084

Skye said she liked the kitchen area in the Ark (-:

IMG_4157

The yaks in the zoo outside the Ark.

IMG_4146

Laurel and Ruby got to ride the camel, ‘Luke’, with Mommy (-:

IMG_4182

Petting the goats in the petting zoo

IMG_4210

One of the zookeepers took us behind the scenes into the barn, and we were able to see and pet some other creatures… we didn’t pet the porcupine though!

IMG_4223

Can you tell that the sun has gone down? We spent several hours at the Ark Encounter and used up both mine and Skye’s camera batteries, taking hundreds of pictures (-: Just keep that in mind if you ever visit the Ark… and hopefully you will!

IMG_4226

As we were getting ready to leave, the Ark was being lit up by the rainbow colors – a lovely reminder of God’s promise in Genesis 9:

“And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: 13 I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. 16 When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.””

(Genesis 9:12-16)

4 thoughts on “August Adventures

  1. The honeybee picture is wonderful! What a great shot! I didn’t know they liked to drink like that!
    And we have friends from Nevada that went to the Noah conference too, I wonder if you met them? The dad has MS and either uses a walker or a scooter. They have adopted many African American children with special needs and have some great older children. I wish I would have known I would have put you in contact with them! Another dear family we met this year!

    The Ark is huge in pictures! I am guessing it is even bigger in real life! Thank you for sharing your pictures! It’s always sweet to see your family! We miss you all!

    Like

  2. Hello!

    My name is Summer and I had the absolute blessing of attending the Noah Conference and experiencing the Ark (as well as the Creation Museum) too! I am so very grateful to be a member of “that family” Miss Christine mentioned above. I believe I remember seeing you bouncing that sweet, handsome little guy in the back of the auditorium during one of the sermons… there were a lot of people so I do not expect you to remember me. But, I love seeing how God connects His people together! I truly enjoyed reading your post here; I was unable to see the lights lit under the Ark so it was a blessing to see that in your post here. I pray that your family returned home without incident and that you have a blessed rest of your day.

    This side of Heaven,
    Summer Rae

    Like

Leave a Reply

