Two Years in Missouri

Two years ago!

On September 18th, AD 2014, we left our dear home in Latah, and headed to Missouri. I remember Mom saying “Now girls, don’t go picking up a Southern accent!” jokingly, as we drove away – but I think it was partly to hide our excitement about moving to a new place, and our sadness about leaving precious friends and familiar places.

Once we got to Missouri, we had to find a house to live in while we ‘searched out the land’, and found a home. God provided a rental in a suburb, from which we were able to do so.

In November/December of 2014, we made the trek back to Washington to pack up the moving truck with our things. Our house in Latah had sold.

After months of searching, God provided us with a home on about 9 acres, in the Ozarks. We moved in on February 14th, AD 2015, thankful for our own place(-:

These past few years have been full. Full of excitement and new things; some pain and sadness – but full of the Lord’s providence, guidance, and mercy. I’ve learned a lot, seen many new things, and met many new people. We have been abundantly blessed by God, and are very thankful for this, and the freedom we enjoy here (yes, one of our many blessings from the Lord!). We can build on our own land without having to get tens of permits!

I miss, very much, being close to our dear friends in the Northwest )-: But, despite the hundreds of miles of separation between us, God has blessed us by providing ways for some of these friends to visit, and even send letters without it taking weeks or months for them to  arrive… I’m glad it’s not the Oregon Trail anymore!(-:

And He has given us more, new friends … This Sunday, the 18th, some sweet ladies from our community are hosting a neighborhood baby shower for Mom(-:

~Lily, a sojourner here

~~~

The King of Love My Shepherd Is – Henry W. Baker

The King of love my Shepherd is, Whose goodness faileth never; I nothing lack if I am His and He is mine forever.

Where streams of living water flow my  ransomed soul He leadeth, and where the verdant pastures grow with food celestial feedeth.

Perverse and foolish oft I strayed, but yet in love He sought me, and on His shoulder gently laid, and home rejoicing brought me.

In death’s dark vale I fear no ill with Thee, dear Lord, beside me; Thy rod and staff my comfort still, Thy cross before to guide me.

And so though all the length of days Thy goodness faileth never: Good Shepherd, may I sing Thy praise within Thy house forever.

~~~

 

group photo

Goodbye Party~ September 2014

 

img_2954

We’re supposed to drive through this creek?! – A low water crossing in MO – (-:

img_3050

a Scripture on an egg carton

img_3223

Laurel among Osage Oranges – Fall 2014

img_3862

Searching for a place to call home. Fall/Winter 2014

img_3575

Packing up in Latah – December 2014

img_4234

Missouri exploration expedition – winter 2014/2015

img_4599

Fishing in our pond – Spring 2015

img_4650

Thorny locust

img_4706

The cave down our road – Spring 2015

img_5277

Woods in Springtime

img_7823

Meramec Spring Park – March 2016

img_7861

Rosalia, my heifer calf, when she was just a few days old – March 2016

img_7874

Tiny Fern! – March 2016

img_8855

Chloe (Skye and I’s milk cow) with her calf, Butternut – July 2016

img_0105

Heather and Rose with Liberty, one of our ponies – Summer 2016

img_0147

Playing in the river – September 2016

img_0165

Some of the corn from our garden (-: Summer 2016

img_0179

A critter found in our garage

img_0181

 

img_0189

~~~

Leave a Reply

