Spring Busyness

This Spring has been quite busy (Spring usually seems to be a busy time of the year, doesn’t it?). Skye and I bought some dairy heifer calves back in March; they were very new (day-old) when we got them, and required some care – especially when they got scours (the runs), and had to be tube-fed electrolytes. That was interesting, but a good learning experience. Now they are about 11 weeks old, weaned, and doing well. Yay!

Around that time we enjoyed hosting some friends from the Northwest here. It was such a blessing to be able to fellowship with them. 🙂

Dad and Mom bought some cherry trees, twenty-two of which we planted in our orchard – along with some other fruit trees.

Lately, we’ve been working on continuing projects – for instance, fencing – and other undertakings, like gardening and incubating some guinea eggs.

 

IMG_7898

North Korea Night

IMG_7906

Korean Cuisine

IMG_7905

(-:

IMG_7983

Celebrating Skye’s 18th birthday

IMG_7995

IMG_8034

And Daddy’s birthday too!

IMG_8038

IMG_8043

The squash and corn garden

IMG_8115

The light bugs have come out! – (sorry the picture is blurry, Heather and I had quite a time trying to get a picture:-)

IMG_8144

A poppy

IMG_8149

Skye’s heifer, Fern, is in the front; Rosalia, my heifer, is the other one with a white spot on her head.

IMG_8156

Some of Mom’s pretty flowers

IMG_8160

Yarrow flowers in the pasture

IMG_8163

IMG_8164

IMG_8169

Ozark jungle

IMG_8183

A cute little pepper on Mama’s little pepper plant!

IMG_8184

The orchard

IMG_8187

Baby peaches growing

IMG_8185

IMG_8193

IMG_8195

Heather’s geese. Their names are ‘Cessna’, ‘Kodiak’, and (temporarily) ‘Clover’ 🙂

IMG_8201

Walnut tree behind Grandma’s cottage

IMG_8205

Ruby helping Skye make bread

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The LORD bless you, friends!

~Lily

Exciting News: We are expecting another baby brother or sister this fall! Praise the Lord for new life!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

 

4 thoughts on “Spring Busyness

  1. Your homestead looks lovely and inviting! The photos make me think of class we took with Greg Hahner together, and you learned well! The heifers are so cute! But best of all is to see you all growing up! Happy Birthday to Skye and Russel!

    Like

    • And a new baby on the way!!!! Hurray!!! It is the first I have heard of it. Apparently, Isaiah knew, and Mark knew… so Caleb probably knew too! Boys!! I am excited for you all!

      Like

  2. Was wondering what you all have been up to! It’s always lovely to see you all. We would love to have a Kenyan night with you, Lord willing! Although I must say I’m looking forward to some American food lol Love to all! Kim

    Like

  3. It is so sweet to hear about what you all have been doing this spring! Thank you for sharing, Lily! The photography is very beautiful! God is so good! Love, Alida

    Like

Leave a Reply

